Blockchain start-up Covee gets 1,35 million euros

LocalGlobe, Atlantic Labs and other investors are pumping € 1.35 million into start-up Covee. Covee is a platform for decentralized teamwork based on blockchain.

Covee - blockchain startup from Berlin receives cash injection

Covee was founded in 2017 by Marcel Dietsch, Raphael Schöttler and Jochen Krause in Berlin, but moved his seat to Zurich. Marcel Dietsch previously worked as investment fund manager in London. Raphael Schöttler is his longtime friend and previously worked at Deutsche Bank and the Federal Ministry of Finance. Jochen Krause is one of the earliest blockchain investors . Prior to founding Covee, he worked as a data scientist at Scalable Capital and Valora.

The startup's goal is to create a blockchain-based platform that enables decentralized teamwork. The focus is on the exchange and exploitation of data about the Blockchain and the cooperation of experts, without being bound to traditional working conditions. Covee recently announced that it has received 1.35 million euros through seed funding. The investor LocalGlobe led the round of financing and venture capitalist Atlantic Labs and other angel investors were also involved.

 

Blockchain-based teamwork

Covee's Blockchain platform is designed to bring together domain experts, computer scientists, statisticians, and machine learning experts to work on complicated, data-related issues. These include topics such as Radiomics, which uses machine learning to diagnose cancer, algorithmic trading, business analytics, and complex software development issues. The blockchain fulfills the task that also came to the Internet: the distribution of data . Furthermore, Covee should make it easier for these experts to work together on projects.

For the team, the current labor market conditions are not created to work flexibly and sometimes spontaneously on projects in the Internet industry. The blockchain of Covee performs a similar function to that of operator companies . Various experts and specialists are involved in projects . Basically, it's about project coordination. Only the coordination on the Blockchain should happen much faster and more flexible .

The Blockchain own tokens should serve as an incentive to use the platform. The employment relationships and contracts are handled and monitored by Smart Contracts. The team is working on the alpha version and is still testing the implementation of Ethereum-based smart contracts. The alpha launch is scheduled for mid-2018.

Blockchain Start-up Covee bekommt 1,35 Millionen Euro

Covee – Blockchain-Startup aus Berlin erhält Finanzspritze

Covee wurde 2017 von Marcel Dietsch, Raphael Schöttler und Jochen Krause in Berlin gegründet, verlegte aber mittlerweile seinen Sitz nach Zürich. Marcel Dietsch war zuvor als Investmentfondsverwalter in London tätig. Raphael Schöttler ist sein langjähriger Freund und arbeitete zuvor bei der Deutschen Bank und dem Bundesfinanzministerium. Jochen Krause gehört zu einem der frühesten Blockchaininvestoren. Vor der Gründung von Covee arbeitete er als Datenwissenschaftler bei Scalable Capital und Valora.

Ziel des Startups ist es, eine Blockchain-basierte Plattform zu schaffen, welche dezentralisiertes Teamwork ermöglicht.Im Fokus steht dabei der Austausch und die Verwertung von Daten über die Blockchain und die Zusammenarbeit von Experten, ohne dabei an traditionelle Arbeitsverhältnisse gebunden zu sein. Kürzlich gab Covee bekannt, dass es durch Seed-Finanzierung 1,35 Millionen Euro bekam. Der Kapitalgeber LocalGlobe führte die Finanzierungsrunde an, der Risikokapitalgeber Atlantic Labs und weitere Angel-Investoren waren ebenfalls daran beteiligt.

 

Blockchain-basiertes Teamwork

Auf der Blockchain-Plattform von Covee sollen Fachexperten, Computerwissenschaftler, Statistiker und Experten für das Machine Learning zusammenkommen, um an komplizierten, datenbezogenen Problemen zu arbeiten. Dabei geht es um Themen wie Radiomics, bei der Machine Learning bei der Diagnose von Krebs eingesetzt wird, um den algorithmischen Handel, Business Analytics oder um komplexe Probleme der Softwareentwicklung. Die Blockchain erfüllt dabei die Aufgabe, die auch dem Internet zukam: die Verteilung von Daten. Weiterhin soll Covee es diesen Experten erleichtern, gemeinsam an Projekten zu arbeiten.

 Für das Team sind die gängigen Arbeitsmarktverhältnisse nicht geschaffen dafür, flexibel und mitunter auch spontan an Projekten in der Internetwirtschaft zu arbeiten. Der Blockchain von Covee erfüllt eine ähnliche Funktion wie die von Vermittlungsfirmen. Verschiedenste Experten und Spezialisten werden zu Projekten herangezogen. Im Grunde geht es um Projektkoordination. Nur soll die Koordination auf der Blockchain wesentlich schneller und flexibler geschehen

Der Blockchain eigene Tokens soll als Anreiz dienen, die Plattform zu nutzen. Die Arbeitsverhältnisse und -verträge werden von Smart Contracts gehandhabt und überwacht. Das Team arbeitet gerade an der Alpha-Version und testet noch die Implementierung von Smart Contracts auf der Basis von Ethereum. Der Alpha-Launch soll in der Mitte 2018 durchgeführt werden.