Franco-German plans for a transfer union?

On her inaugural visit to Paris, Chancellor Angela Merkel agreed with President Emmanuel Macron to draw up plans for reform of the European Union by mid-year. Whether these will point in the direction of a transfer union, as Macron hopes for, remains uncertain.

Different economic developments in the euro zone

The financial crisis has revealed it relentlessly: Contrary to expectations, the single currency did not lead to economic convergence in the euro countries. Unit labour costs in Greece rose by a whopping 23 percent between the introduction of the euro in 1999 and 2009, while they fell by 12 percent in Germany.

In the meantime, Southern European countries have made painful adjustments to wages and prices. The internal devaluation that has taken place so far is certainly not enough to restore lost competitiveness. The fact that southern Europe is currently growing again is mainly due to the expansive monetary policy of the European Central Bank.

For the countries of Northern Europe, however, money floods and low interest rates pose a threat: In the medium term, they will lead to overheating of the already strong economy and the formation of speculative bubbles.

Euro Finance Minister with his own budget

So what is to be done? In his speech at the Sorbonne last September, French President Emmanuel Macron presented a proposed solution. In addition to various ideas for the further integration of the EU, he recommended the creation of a Euro Finance Minister with his own budget. The money for this budget should come from CO2 taxes, a tax for Internet companies, Europe-wide harmonised corporate taxes and from the coffers of the member states. Macron wants to use it to help countries in crisis to grow more.

Commission President Jean-Claude Juncker recently outlined similar plans in his address on the state of the European Union. He did not demand a separate budget for the euro zone, but an increase in the EU budget and a separate budget line for the euro zone. In this way, the Union should stabilise euro states in crisis situations and promote structural adjustments. Juncker also called for the post of EU Economic Commissioner to be upgraded to a European Finance Minister. And the Commission President wants to develop the European Stability Mechanism (ESM) into a European Monetary Fund (EMF) modelled on the IMF.

Neither Juncker nor Macron came up with the subject of Euro bonds. Nevertheless, the two politicians' proposals are difficult to digest for Germany, as they mean nothing more than the introduction of new transfer payments from north to south.

Redistribution weakens reform zeal

Anglo-Saxon economists in particular welcome the joint budget. They believe that Europe has relied too much on monetary policy measures during the financial crisis and that the ESM is not effective enough. The United States and the United Kingdom, for example, which accepted considerable budget deficits and whose economy recovered more quickly than that of the euro zone, are taking this as an example.

According to a survey by the Federal Association of German Economists and Business Economists, only seven percent of economists in Germany can warm up to a common euro zone budget. The majority of German economists fear that the joint budget will lead to bad investments and prevent the South from carrying out painful structural reforms.

Federal Government supports European Monetary Fund

So far, this has also been the position of the Federal Government. Moreover, the government is open to the expansion of the ESM into a European Monetary Fund. However, it requires the EMF to be independent of the Commission and the EU Parliament. Only an independent monetary fund would have the necessary authority to implement reform goals in the crisis countries.

Even the idea of a European Finance Minister is not entirely rejected. However, the minds are divided on its tasks. Wolfgang Schäuble, for example, saw the European Finance Minister not as the master of his own budget, but as the controller who monitors compliance with the stability criteria.

In view of the diverging ideas, it is unclear what joint reform proposals by Germany and France could look like. It is also unclear what influence the SPD will have, which has clearly moved to the left with the new edition of the grand coalition. However, it is not to be expected that the Chancellor will turn to Macron's plans to create a Euro Finance Minister with her own budget. Rather, it will pursue its policy of small steps and only accept proposals whose transfer effect is not immediately apparent.

Deutsch-französische Pläne für eine Transferunion?

Bei ihrem Antrittsbesuch in Paris kam Bundeskanzlerin Angela Merkel mit Präsident Emmanuel Macron überein, bis Mitte Jahr Pläne für eine Reform der Europäischen Union auszuarbeiten. Ob diese in Richtung einer Transferunion weisen werden, wie sich Macron erhofft, bleibt ungewiss.

Bei ihrem Antrittsbesuch in Paris kam Bundeskanzlerin Angela Merkel mit Präsident Emmanuel Macron überein, bis Mitte des Jahres Pläne für eine Reform der Europäischen Union auszuarbeiten. Ob diese in Richtung einer Transferunion weisen werden, wie sich Macron erhofft, bleibt ungewiss.

Unterschiedliche Wirtschaftsentwicklung in der Euro-Zone

Die Finanzkrise hat es schonungslos offengelegt: Anders als erwartet führte die Gemeinschaftswährung in den Euro-Ländern nicht zu einer Konvergenz der wirtschaftlichen Entwicklung. So stiegen die Lohnstückkosten in Griechenland zwischen der Euro-Einführung im Jahr 1999 und 2009 um satte 23 Prozent, während sie in der Bundesrepublik um 12 Prozent sanken.

Mittlerweile haben die südeuropäischen Länder schmerzhafte Anpassungen von Löhnen und Preisen vorgenommen. Die bisher erfolgte innere Abwertung reicht freilich nicht, um die verlorene Wettbewerbsfähigkeit wiederherzustellen. Dass der Süden Europas momentan wieder wächst, ist vor allem der expansiven Geldpolitik der Europäischen Zentralbank zu verdanken.

Für die nordeuropäischen Länder stellen Geldschwemme und Niedrigzinsen indes eine Bedrohung dar: Mittelfristig führen sie zur Überhitzung der ohnehin gut laufenden Wirtschaft und zur Bildung spekulativer Blasen.

Euro-Finanzminister mit eigenem Budget

Was ist also zu tun? In seiner Europa-Rede an der Sorbonne präsentierte der französische Präsident Emmanuel Macron letzten September einen Lösungsvorschlag. Neben diversen Ideen zur weiteren Integration der EU empfahl er die Schaffung eines Euro-Finanzministers mit eigenem Budget. Das Geld für dieses Budget soll aus CO2-Steuern, einer Abgabe für Internet-Unternehmen, europaweit harmonisierten Unternehmenssteuern und aus den Kassen der Mitgliedsstaaten stammen. Macron möchte es dazu verwenden, krisengeschüttelten Ländern zu mehr Wachstum zu verhelfen.

Ähnliche Pläne hatte kurz zuvor Kommissionspräsident Jean-Claude Juncker in seiner Ansprache zur Lage der Europäischen Union skizziert. Er verlangte zwar keinen separaten Haushalt für die Euro-Zone, aber eine Erhöhung des EU-Haushalts und eine eigene Budgetlinie für das Euro-Währungsgebiet. Damit solle die Union Euro-Staaten in Krisensituationen stabilisieren und Strukturanpassungen fördern. Zudem forderte Juncker, den Posten des EU-Wirtschaftskommissars zu einem europäischen Finanzminister aufzuwerten. Und den Europäischen Stabilitätsmechanismus (ESM) will der Kommissionspräsident zu einem Europäischen Währungsfonds (EWF) nach Vorbild des IWF ausbauen.

Weder Juncker noch Macron kamen auf das Thema Euro-Bonds zu sprechen. Dennoch sind die Vorschläge der beiden Politiker für Deutschland schwer verdauliche Kost, bedeuten sie doch nichts anderes als die Einführung neuer Transferzahlungen von Nord nach Süd.

Umverteilung schwächt Reformeifer

Insbesondere angelsächsische Ökonomen begrüßen das gemeinsame Budget. Sie sind der Meinung, Europa habe während der Finanzkrise zu stark auf geldpolitische Maßnahmen gesetzt und der ESM sei zu wenig effektiv. Als Beispiel dienen ihnen die USA und Großbritannien, die erhebliche Budgetdefizite in Kauf nahmen und deren Wirtschaft sich schneller erholte als die der Euro-Zone.

In Deutschland können sich laut einer Umfrage des Bundesverbands Deutscher Volks- und Betriebswirte bloß sieben Prozent der Ökonomen für einen gemeinsamen Euro-Zonen-Haushalt erwärmen. Die Mehrheit der deutschen Wirtschaftswissenschaftler befürchtet, das gemeinsame Budget führe zu Fehlinvestitionen und verhindere, dass der Süden schmerzhafte Strukturreformen durchführe.

Bundesregierung befürwortet Europäischen Währungsfonds

Dies ist bisher auch der Standpunkt der Bundesregierung. Im Übrigen zeigt sich die Regierung offen für einen Ausbau des ESM zu einem Europäischen Währungsfonds. Sie verlangt jedoch, dass der EWF von Kommission und EU-Parlament unabhängig ist. Nur ein unabhängiger Währungsfonds habe in den Krisenländern die notwendige Autorität, Reformziele durchzusetzen.

Auch die Idee eines europäischen Finanzministers stößt nicht rundweg auf Ablehnung. Allerdings scheiden sich die Geister an dessen Aufgaben. So sah etwa Wolfgang Schäuble den europäischen Finanzminister nicht als Herrn über ein eigenes Budget, sondern als Kontrolleur, der über die Einhaltung der Stabilitätskriterien wacht.

Angesichts der divergierenden Vorstellungen ist unklar, wie gemeinsame Reformvorschläge von Deutschland und Frankreich aussehen könnten. Unklar ist ferner, welchen Einfluss die SPD haben wird, die mit der Neuauflage der großen Koalition deutlich nach links gerückt ist. Dass die Bundeskanzlerin auf die Pläne Macrons zur Schaffung eines Euro-Finanzministers mit eigenem Budget einschwenkt, ist indessen nicht zu erwarten. Vielmehr wird sie ihre Politik der kleinen Schritte weiterverfolgen und nur Vorschläge akzeptieren, deren Transferwirkung nicht auf den ersten Blick erkennbar ist.