Debt ratio of eurozone countries drops noticeably

A good economic situation and the persistently low interest rate policy are responsible for overall debt ratios among the 19 eurozone countries . In 2017, total debt as a percentage of gross domestic product (GDP) fell by an average of 2.3 percentage points. The new debt ratio has also fallen significantly.


Falling government debt and budget surpluses

Eurostat , the European statistics office, has published current figures on the overall economic situation in the eurozone and the individual euro countries. After that, the total debt ratio fell from 89 percent of GDP in 2016 to 86.7 percent in 2017. The new debt has also fallen. The budget deficit in 2016 was still 1.5 percent for the eurozone countries. In 2017, this value has dropped to 0.9 percent. The euro countries spent a good 99 billion euros in 2017 more than in the previous year. Thanks to the good economy and the resulting increase in tax revenues, the revenue side of most euro area countries has grown much faster than the expenditure side.

Many eurozone countries even recorded a budget surplus . Including Germany with 1.3 percent of GDP . Even Greece was able to achieve a budget surplus thanks to reforms and tight savings. This is 0.8 percent for 2017 - without the interest charges, the surplus is even four percent. Thus, Greece has clearly exceeded the agreed goals of international donors.



Unequal distribution of public debt

In addition to the positive figures, however, some eurozone countries continue to be in a strained situation. Including Spain and Portugal , both lagged behind with three or more percent budget deficit in 2017. For both countries this means that total debt continued to rise. With 98.3 percent of total debt to GDP in the case of Spain and 125.7 percent in the case of Portugal, both countries significantly exceed the allowed debt ratio of 60 percent . After all, the target of three percent budget deficit in the year (new debt ratio) is hardly exceeded.

In addition to Spain and Portugal, other eurozone countries are also burdened with high debt levels. Despite the better situation, Greece now continues to account for 178.6 percent of total schools in GDP. Italy with 131.8 percent and Belgium with 103.1 percent continue to miss the targets clearly. Top class here is Estonia with just nine percent. Luxembourg with 23 percent follows behind.



Debt and new debt standards difficult for many eurozone countries

Estonia and Luxembourg are among the six countries that have complied with both provisions of the Maastricht Treaty last year. The Netherlands, Latvia, Lithuania and Slovakia are the other four. Germany has now reduced its debt to 64.1 percent - the target is thus just barely met .

Schuldenquote der Euroländer sinkt spürbar

Eine gute konjunkturelle Lage und die anhaltende Niedrigzinspolitik sorgen für fallende Schuldenquoten bei den 19 Euroländern. So sank in 2017 die Gesamtverschuldung gemessen zum Bruttoinlandsprodukt (BIP) im Schnitt um 2,3 Prozentpunkte. Auch die Neuverschuldungsquote ist deutlich zurückgegangen.


Sinkende Staatsschulden und Haushaltsüberschüsse

Eurostat, das europäische Statistikamt, hat aktuelle Zahlen zur gesamtwirtschaftlichen Situation der Eurozone und der einzelnen Euroländer veröffentlicht. Hiernach ist die Gesamtschuldenquote von 89 Prozent am BIP im Jahr 2016 auf 86,7 Prozent im Jahr 2017 gesunken. Auch die Neuverschuldung ist zurückgegangen. Das Haushaltsdefizit in 2016 lag für die Euroländer noch bei 1,5 Prozent. In 2017 ist dieser Wert auf 0,9 Prozent gesunken. Dabei haben die Euroländer gut 99 Milliarden Euro in 2017 mehr ausgegeben als im Vorjahr. Dank gute Konjunktur und damit steigenden Steuereinnahmen ist die Einnahmeseite bei den meisten Euroländern deutlich stärker gewachsen als die Ausgabenseite.

Viele Euroländern konnten sogar einen Haushaltsüberschuss ausweisen. Darunter Deutschland mit 1,3 Prozent zum BIP. Sogar Griechenland konnte dank Reformen und engen Einsparungen ein Haushaltsüberschuss erreichen. 0,8 Prozent beträgt dieser für 2017 - ohne die Zinslasten liegt der Überschuss sogar bei vier Prozent. Damit hat Griechenland die vereinbarten Ziele der internationalen Geldgeber deutlich übertroffen.



Ungleichverteilung der Staatsschulden

Neben den positiven Zahlen sind aber auch einige Euroländer weiterhin in einer angespannten Situation. Darunter Spanien und Portugal, die beide mit drei oder mehr Prozent Haushaltsdefizit im Jahr 2017 abgeschlagen hinterhinken. Das bedeutet für beide Ländern, dass die Gesamtverschuldung weiter anstieg. Mit 98,3 Prozent Gesamtverschuldung zum BIP im Falle Spaniens und 125,7 Prozent im Falle Portugals überschreiten beide Länder die erlaubte Schuldenstandsquote von 60 Prozent deutlich. Immerhin wird die Vorgabe von drei Prozent Haushaltsdefizit im Jahr (Neuverschuldungsquote) kaum überschritten.

Neben Spanien und Portugal sind aber auch weitere Euroländer mit hohen Schuldenständen belastet. So liegt Griechenland trotz besserer Lage jetzt weiterhin bei 178,6 Prozent Gesamtschulen zum BIP. Italien mit 131,8 Prozent und Belgien mit 103,1 Prozent verfehlen die Vorgaben weiterhin deutlich. Klassenprimus hier ist Estland mit gerade einmal neun Prozent. Luxemburg mit 23 Prozent folgt dahinter.



Vorgaben zum Schuldenstand und Neuverschuldung für viele Euroländer schwierig

Estland und Luxemburg zählen zu den sechs Ländern, die beide Vorgaben des Maastricht-Vertrags im vergangenen Jahr auch eingehalten haben. Die Niederlande, Lettland, Litauen und die Slowakei sind die anderen vier. Deutschland hat seinen Schuldenstand mittlerweile auf 64,1 Prozent gedrückt - die Zielvorgabe ist damit nur knapp nicht erfüllt.